Group members

PhD students

Harry Lloyd joined the group in 2019 for his MSci project, investigating structure diversity and conductivity in new molecular perovskites. He returned to do a PhD in 2020, joint-funded by Diamond Light Source, looking at time-resolved structural determination of MOF & perovskite structures, co-supervised by Dr Mark Warren and Dr Lucy Saunders at Diamond. Outside of Chemistry, he is an avid West Bromwich Albion fan, a keen book reader & an enthusiastic tea drinker.

Aaron Chambers, Winner of the Yeung group Christmas Quiz 2020, joined the group in 2020 for a PhD project looking at the fabrication and characterisation of MOF composites, co-supervised by Dr Brian Pauw at the Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing, Germany (BAM). His interest in the field started in 2017 during a 3rd year research project as part of his Masters degree. The chemistry surrounding MOFs is something he’s very passionate about. On a more personal note, Aaron enjoys playing Xbox, watching/playing football and he has an interest in space.

Joe Atherton joined the group in 2020 for a PhD project looking at pre-nucleation in the crystallisation of MOFs, funded by the School of Chemistry. Previously, he completed an MChem at the University of Sheffield, including a final-year research project on organometallic complexes, and spent four years working for a supplier of analytical chemistry equipment. Aside from chemistry he enjoys walking, reading, history, and languages.

Masters students

UoB Chemistry students please contact Hamish to discuss possible research projects for academic year 2021-22.

Former members

Vicky Akroyd joined the group for a fourth year MSci project in 2020–21, working on modelling of MOF formation kinetics. Outside of Chemistry, she played basketball for the University women’s team and was the president of the club.

Matt Bradberry joined the group for an MSci project in 2020–21, investigating the effects of external perturbations on MOF formation kinetics. He also played cricket for the University and is an avid football fan.

Dom Allen joined the group in 2019 for his Part II project in Oxford, looking at structure and ferroelectricity in new perovskites, co-supervised by Andrew Goodwin.

Kieran Orr

Kieran Orr joined the group in 2018 as a Part II student investigating the crystallisation and heterostructures of mixed-component MOF nanoparticles using both in situ and ex situ techniques. He left the group to take up a PhD scholarship at the University of Cambridge.


Felicity Massingberd-Mundy did a summer research project in 2017 with the group focusing on optimising the synthesis conditions of MOFs for sensing applications. She returned to the group in 2018 to do her Part II project on MOF formation, processing and applications in collaboration with Johnson Matthey. Her work was published in Nature Scientific Reports. She left the group to become a research scientist at Johnson Matthey.

Version 2

Adam Sapnik did his Part II project in 2017 investigating the formation kinetics and host-guest sensing behaviour of mixed component ZIFs, co-supervised by Andrew Goodwin. His work was published in Chemical Communications and Angewandte Chemie. He left the group to take up a PhD scholarship at the University of Cambridge.

Kevin Liang did a summer project with the group in 2019, funded by a Hertford College Summer Studentship award, researching the kinetics and phase behaviour of metal-organic framework formation.


Anisha Bahl did her summer project with the group in 2018, funded by a Department’s Public Engagement with Research grant, developing outreach activities to take our research on the crystallography of materials and minerals to museums and schools.


Frank Nightingale did his summer research project with the group in 2018, funded by an SCG Innovation grant, looking at fundamental aspects of reaction equilibria and pH control in MOF formation.